• The annual search for South Africa’s tastiest boerewors has come to a close with the Western Cape’s Tyron Adams claiming top honours as the winner of the 2023 Shoprite and Checkers Championship Boerewors competition.

    The Wellington-born chef was up against nine other finalists from across the country at the grand finale held in Somerset West last week.

    ALSO SEE: Shoprite revolutionises shopping with launch of cashless store OK Urban

    31-year-old Tyron Adams walked away with incredible prizes that include a brand-new Toyota Fortuner, R20 000 in cash and the bragging rights of being crowned SA’s Boerewors Champion.

    ‘I am ecstatic! This was totally unexpected and I can barely wait to see my boerewors on the Shoprite and Checkers store shelves. It’s been a tough couple of years trying to start my own business, especially since Covid hit,’ says Adams.

    ‘But tough times make tough people and I am lucky to to have a group of special people around me that kept me motivates. This is a dream come true for me,’ added the boerewors champion.

    Picture: Shoprite

    Second place went to Eddie Hawkes from Brackenfell and third place to Gustav Piek from Wellington, who won R50 000 and R30 000 respectively.

    Now in its 31st year, the competition attracts boerewors makers from all walks of life, with thousands entering each year. The entries were judged through various elimination rounds by the South African Chefs Association (SACA).

    This year, over 1 400 boerewors enthusiasts from all corners of South Africa tried their luck at nabbing the championship title.

    The top ten cooked their boerewors at the finale for a judging panel of food experts that included celebrity chef Zola Nene, AOC member Jeff Schueremans, SA Chefs President James Khoza, Home Cook celebrity Zanele van Zyl and Food Author Carmen Niehaus.

    Picture: Shoprite

    Adams’ winning recipe will be available at Shoprite and Checkers stores countrywide from 8 September 2023, just in time to be the star on the hundreds of braais that will surely be lit across the country for the first Rugby World Cup game.

    The 2023 top ten Championship Boerewors finalists were: 

    • Olivier Kritzinger from Joubertina, Eastern Cape
    • Mshasheni Mabotja from Polokwane, Limpopo
    • Tyron Adams from Wellington, Western Cape
    • Xavier Blaauw from Wellington, Western Cape
    • Connie Viljoen from Richard’s Bay, KwaZulu-Natal
    • Roy Erasmus from Newcastle, KwaZulu Natal
    • Roland Blaauw from Wellington, Western Cape
    • Gustav Piek from Wellington, Western Cape
    • Yvonne Blaauw from Wellington, Western Cape
    • Eddie Hawkes from Brackenfell, Western Cape

    ALSO SEE: Loadshedding Boerewors Roll

    Loadshedding Boerewors Roll

    Words by Tauhira Ajam for Cape Etc.

    Feature image: Shoprite